A taste of the weekend during the week

Certain meals always feel like more of a weekend affair, especially those that take a bit of preparation or require you to hunt for unusual ingredients.

A couple of weeks ago I was flicking through TV channels and came across an episode of chef Donal Skehan’s Cook, Eat, Burn and found myself drooling as he made a roast chicken with a twist, using pomegranate molasses. He served it with a lovely side of bulgur wheat and roasted veg.

I added this recipe to my ‘must make’ list, but had two minor hurdles: (1) I had never heard of pomegranate molasses, and had no idea where to get them and (2) I reckoned I’d need a free afternoon to prep this meal.

A quick Google told me that specialty food store Fallon and Byrne stocked pomegranate molasses, and after reading the recipe I realised it wasn’t as involved as I first thought, and, as such, was definitely a viable midweek dinner option – albeit with a bit of organisation required.

This morning before work, I took five minutes to stick the chicken in a bag with pomegranate molasses, garlic, chilli and seasoning, and then stuck it in the fridge for the day. After work, veg was chopped, bulgur wheat boiled and that was about it.  It required a bit of a wait for dinner while the chicken and veg roasted. But it was well worth it!

Roast chicken with bulgur wheat and roasted veg

Roast chicken with bulgur wheat and roasted veg

Leave a comment